Site Logo


Boutte Station, September 4, 1862

Vermont units present/engaged:

8th Infantry



Barlow, Clarence
Barrett, George H.
Barrett, Ira
Becotte, Joseph
Clapper, George
Day, Wesley H.
Flint, Abner Nichols
Ford, George Osman
Hayward, Almon B.
Hibbard, Newell H.
Hill, George W.
Hutchins, George G.
Hutchinson, Lemuel Murdock
Loomis, Charles A.
Mead, John Boardman
Parker, Solon D.
Phelps, John F.
Pike, John M.
Sargent, Andrew Jackson
Smith, James W.
Welch, James
Wilson, Francis


On the 4th of September, another detachment of sixty men under Captain Clark, guarding a railroad train, was ambushed at Boutte Station by Confederate Colonel McWaters, with a force of 1,500 strong, and badly cut to pieces, losing fifteen killed and fatally hurt and twenty wounded, but the train escaped.

The force which attacked this train now turned to Bayou Des Allemands station, which was held by a detachment under Captain Hall, and demanded its surrender, and Captain Hall, apprised of the enemy's strength, surrendered with Lieutenant Sargent, Co. E., Lieutenants Green and Mead, Co. G., and 137 men.

Among our men surrendered here were seven Germans who enlisted from New Orleans, and being recognized, they were tried by a hasty Court Martial, condemned to death and shot on the pretext that they were deserters from the rebel army, which was entirely untrue, and a more dastardly murder was never committed.

Benedict, Chapter 22